Staff Picks

Our hard-working staff is busy smoking dozens of cigars, so you don't have to! Each week, they choose their favorite stick from the bunch.
Jaime Garcia Reserva Especial TAA 2017 Torpedo 61/8 * 52
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
This Jaime Garcia Reserva Especial TAA is limited to less than 80 stores in the United States and Neptune is one of the lucky ones -- take advantage of the availability! The cigar has a gorgeous dark brown wrapper and a boxed press torpedo body -- awesome combination. Upon first light, a blast of spice and pepper pop and linger throughout the first third. Notes of dark chocolate and espresso are also prevalent. The second third calms down a bit, but spice is still right up there as well as the same dark chocolate and espresso. Towards the end of the second third a very nice sweetness comes into play which is a welcome combination. The final third remains about the same but a bit more sweetness is upfront. Even though this smoke was not too complex, it was full of flavor -- a medium to full smoke. The draw was perfect as well as the burn -- no complaints. An enjoyable experience and a must try!! Picked on 04/23/2017
Tyler Bartley
AGE:29
TASTE:Everything
HOBBIES:Drawing, Traveling, Formula 1 racing, Baseball, History
STRENGTH:Medium to Full

FAVORITE BRANDS
Matilde Renacer
Gurkha Cellar Reserve 15 Years
Tatuaje El Triunfador
Dunhill 1907
Don Pepin Garcia Blue Edition
Rocky Patel Vintage 1992

FOLLOW
La Flor Dominicana 1994 Aldaba 6 * 58
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
I can say that smoking this cigar is like going on a fruitful journey. The construction on this cigar is perfect, the wrapper is smooth with a slight medium brown tint. I feel an explosion of peppery spice notes upon the initial light, however the flavor changes very dramatically a few minutes later. Roughly 5 minutes into the smoke the spiciness subdues and I'm met with a multitude of citrus flavors! In all honestly I no single citrus fruit was dominate, I tasted hints of lemon, orange and a little bit of lime. Towards the middle and onward to the end of this smoke these citrus flavors mellowed somewhat and I started to taste a full bodied coffee like flavor with cocoa on top of the citrus tones. If you are seeking a full bodied highly complex and ever changing smoke make some room in your humidor and take the time to enjoy this fantastic blend! Picked on 04/21/2017
Marianela Mena
TASTE:All
HOBBIES:Reading, running and smoking good cigars
STRENGTH:Medium-Full and Full

FAVORITE BRANDS
Liga Privada T52
Eiroa by CLE
Tatuaje Miami Seleccion del Cazador
Aging Room Quattro F55
Ashton VSG
Joya de Nicaragua Antano Dark Corojo

FOLLOW
Montecristo Crafted by AJ Fernandez Toro 6 * 50
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
There's no doubt AJ Fernandez has a magic touch when it comes to creating fine cigars. Once and again you see the results of his craftsmanship in this new collaboration with Montecristo. This beautiful box press is bold and flavorful. An Ecuadorian Sumatra wrapper, a Mexican San Andres binder and fillers from Nicaragua, USA, and Honduras perfectly blend and complement each other resulting in a flawless smoke. A very simple but elegant look, this vitola truly is a work of art. This full bodied cigar started out with coffee and dark chocolate notes, adding some leather and spice later on. Strong enough to satisfy a full bodied smoker but smooth and velvety enough to be appreciated for smokers who prefer a lighter smoke. Impeccable construction, firm ash and no need to relight. This cigar is a must to try!! Picked on 04/09/2017
Daniel Gutierrez
AGE:26
TASTE:Wood, Cream, Cedar
HOBBIES:Painting, Animation, Music
STRENGTH:Medium/Full

FAVORITE BRANDS
Padron 1926 Serie Maduro
Partagas
Arturo Fuente Fuente Opus X

FOLLOW
La Aurora Preferidos Double Barrel Aged No. 2 Tubes 5 * 54
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
The cigar is beautifully made with minimal veins, no blemishes, and with an oily touch. I love the unique perfecto style La Aurora make, it’s very simple and straight forward; Less is more they say. From the pre-light I get leather, wood (Oak-ish), currant, and rum in a way that’s like an after taste. The draw was great and the oak and leather were prominent on the palate. Going through the inch and a half, some sweetness does come in to play and it’s just amazing from there. I do get notes of dry fruit here-and-there which is quite nice. The ash does hold from only around two inches or so. The cigar remains consistent throughout flavor and note. You can pair this cigar with a light to medium scotch or brandy. I nearly burnt my finger nail trying to finish this cigar, I didn’t want it to stop! Definitely has a spot in my humidor for the next smoke, Enjoy! Picked on 04/02/2017
Adam
AGE:37
TASTE:All
HOBBIES:Music, Reading, Art, Nature, Craft Beer, Slacking
STRENGTH:All

FAVORITE BRANDS
Tatuaje Black Label
Liga Privada No. 9
Joya de Nicaragua Antano 1970
Arturo Fuente

FOLLOW
Joya de Nicaragua Antano 1970 Gran Perfecto 6 * 60
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
Though this cigar has been on the market for quite a while now, it has not lost any of its appeal. It is a big, fat (perhaps not by today's standards, but still...) Nicaraguan Puro that is well packed and feels heavy in the hand. Its reddish brown chocolaty wrapper is beautiful and flawless. Be patient when you first light it as the draw will be tight until you work through the tapered foot. Once it opens up however, it will open with a bang. You will be hit with an intense and wonderful aroma followed by flavors of spice, cocoa, molasses, raisin, cedar, earth and licorice. The spice will get more intense as you work your way through the stick, but it at no point does it override the other flavors. The ash is sturdy and white. When you figure out just how good this cigar is in combination with its very reasonable price tag...you will understand why there are always at least a few of them in my humidor. Much like a 64.5 Mustang or a well worn pair of Levy's, this cigar is a classic. Picked on 04/02/2017
Luz Normand
TASTE:Earthy, Pepper
HOBBIES:Cooking, Reading, Traveling
STRENGTH:Medium

FAVORITE BRANDS
Arturo Fuente
Tatuaje Black Label
La Aurora Preferidos Cameroon Platinum
Montecristo Espada
Crowned Heads Headley Grange

FOLLOW
La Aurora Preferidos Cameroon Platinum No. 2 5 * 54
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
This little chubby perfecto-shaped cigar by La Aurora just has it all. The wrapper is flawless and so is the construction. I love the smell of the medium brown Cameroon wrapper. This is the cigar that you smoke when you are feeling fancy and want to enjoy a stick that is smooth and sophisticated. WOW! The flavors on this stick are amazing. Medium to full bodied, this cigar is rich in flavor with cedar, nuts, and chocolate in the background. You will not find any harshness or spice in this smoke. I smoked it to the nub and almost burned my fingers, I did not wanted this to end. The La Aurora Preferidos is a classic line that I do not revisit often, but that's a mistake on my part. The No. 2 Cameroon is my favorite of the line, and I plan to smoke these more often! Picked on 03/25/2017
Rene L
AGE:30
TASTE:Wood, Earth, Leather
HOBBIES:Guitar, Beer, Sarcasm
STRENGTH:Medium/Full

FAVORITE BRANDS
Padron 1964 Anniversary Maduro
Liga Privada No. 9
Eiroa CBT Maduro
Kristoff GC Signature Series
Tatuaje Miami Seleccion del Cazador

FOLLOW
Romeo 505 Nicaragua Robusto 51/2 * 50
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
It has been a LONG time since I've smoked a Romeo y Julieta. If you've followed my reviews, you might be able to guess why I decided to light this one up - it's Nicaraguan! My favorite country of origin for tobacco is the highlight here, being that it is the very first RyJ to utilize it to the fullest extent; it features 100% Nicaraguan tobacco AND is rolled there as well. Naturally, I knew at the very least that I would probably LIKE the cigar, but I was surprised at how much I actually did. I happen to love box-pressed cigars, so that was already a point in its favor, but once it was lit and about an inch in, I already knew it would be my next Staff Pick. There was a momentary blast of spice in the very beginning, though that subsided fairly quickly and opened up into a very rich, leathery note that never let up. Earthy notes are also detectable, and hints of cinnamon showed face as well. No relights were needed, the burn was more than fair, and the cigar just looked and felt well constructed. I encourage you to try this one, especially if RyJ had perhaps gotten a bit lackluster as it had for me in recent times. Cheers! Picked on 02/23/2017
Andrew
AGE:25
TASTE:Leather, Wood, Espresso
HOBBIES:Golf, Hanging with my dog, Smoking cigars
STRENGTH:Medium/Full

FAVORITE BRANDS
Tatuaje Black Label
Ashton
Illusione "Original Documents"
La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero

FOLLOW
Eiroa Toro 6 * 54
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
If I were to blend my own cigar, it would definitely be on a corojo wrapper. I really enjoy the spicy kick you get out of the wrapper. When it comes to corojo wrappers, in my opinion, no one does it better than Eiroa. The Eiroa Toro is an Honduran puro that is rolled at their Aladino Factory. The Toro starts off with red pepper and woodsy notes. The draw was a bit firm at first but eventually opened up during the first third. As the cigar progresses, some notes of dark fruits appear that leave a sweet after taste. You can really appreciate all of the fruity and spicy notes on the retrohale. Towards the final third, the cigar has developed toward a full bodied smoke. The Eiroa Toro is a consistent cigar offering great flavors and a generous smoke output. I usually prefer my corojo wrappers no bigger than a 50 ring gauge so I can taste the wrapper a bit more. However, this cigar was still excellent despite being a tad bit thicker than my preference. If you enjoy your cigars on the stronger side, I suggest you give one of these a try. Picked on 02/10/2017
Michael Diaz-Silveira
AGE:22
TASTE:Wood, Leather, Nut, Maple
HOBBIES:Guitar, Football, Basketball, Volleyball
STRENGTH:Full

FAVORITE BRANDS
Herrera Esteli
Eiroa CBT Maduro
Liga Privada No. 9
Perdomo Double Aged 12 Year Connecticut
CAO Amazon Basin


BONUS
Adrenaline Junkie!
FOLLOW
Crowned Heads La Imperiosa Magicos 41/2 * 52
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
If you are looking for a quick 45 minute smoke, look no further. Crowned Heads La Imperiosa Magicos is sure to hit the spot and put you in a placid mood. This extra dark stogie delivers a medium to full bodied smoke, presenting notes of delicious chocolate, cedar, and some pepper. With a solid ash and good burn, one cannot simply ask for more. Picked on 01/28/2017