Staff Picks

Our hard-working staff is busy smoking dozens of cigars, so you don't have to! Each week, they choose their favorite stick from the bunch.
Luz Normand
TASTE:Earthy, Pepper
HOBBIES:Cooking, Reading, Traveling
STRENGTH:Medium

FAVORITE BRANDS
Arturo Fuente
Tatuaje Black Label
La Aurora Preferidos Cameroon Platinum
Montecristo Espada
Crowned Heads Headley Grange

FOLLOW
La Aurora Preferidos Cameroon Platinum No. 2 5 * 54
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
This little chubby perfecto-shaped cigar by La Aurora just has it all. The wrapper is flawless and so is the construction. I love the smell of the medium brown Cameroon wrapper. This is the cigar that you smoke when you are feeling fancy and want to enjoy a stick that is smooth and sophisticated. WOW! The flavors on this stick are amazing. Medium to full bodied, this cigar is rich in flavor with cedar, nuts, and chocolate in the background. You will not find any harshness or spice in this smoke. I smoked it to the nub and almost burned my fingers, I did not wanted this to end. The La Aurora Preferidos is a classic line that I do not revisit often, but that's a mistake on my part. The No. 2 Cameroon is my favorite of the line, and I plan to smoke these more often! Picked on 03/25/2017
Camacho Corojo Robusto 5 * 50
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
It has been a very long time since smoking a Camacho and what a nice change it was!!! This Sumatra blend was perfect to the taste. The draw was spot on along with the nice long white ash! The cigar starts off as a medium body but turns into a full body towards the end. The first third starts off very smooth with earthy notes and some spice. The second third brings along the same notes but almost coffee/espresso shows up which is a nice change. Into the last third, same notes hanging on along with cedar and more spice. Overall I was extremely happy with the whole smokingbexperience of this beautiful Sumatra blend. I would highly recommend this size. Picked on 03/22/2017
Marianela Mena
TASTE:All
HOBBIES:Reading, running and smoking good cigars
STRENGTH:Medium-Full and Full

FAVORITE BRANDS
Liga Privada T52
Eiroa by CLE
Tatuaje Miami Seleccion del Cazador
Aging Room Quattro F55
Ashton VSG
Joya de Nicaragua Antano Dark Corojo

FOLLOW
La Palina Nicaragua Oscuro Robusto 5 * 52
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
I'm obsessed with this stick and I just can't stop smoking it. This cigar is packed with flavor that is complex from the very beginning to the end. This is a nice looking cigar that immediately catches the eye, with a rough and oily medium brown wrapper that smells of dark cocoa and leather. Medium to full in strength with a combination of leather, cocoa, nuts, and cedar interacting and playing alongside ones palate and nose. Going from medium strength and picking up to end as a full bodied smoke. Perfect draw with a grey almost white ash. I must say the partnership between La Palina and AJ Fernandez smells like success. Picked on 02/26/2017
Rene L
AGE:30
TASTE:Wood, Earth, Leather
HOBBIES:Guitar, Beer, Sarcasm
STRENGTH:Medium/Full

FAVORITE BRANDS
Padron 1964 Anniversary Maduro
Liga Privada No. 9
Eiroa CBT Maduro
Kristoff GC Signature Series
Tatuaje Miami Seleccion del Cazador

FOLLOW
Romeo 505 Nicaragua Robusto 51/2 * 50
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
It has been a LONG time since I've smoked a Romeo y Julieta. If you've followed my reviews, you might be able to guess why I decided to light this one up - it's Nicaraguan! My favorite country of origin for tobacco is the highlight here, being that it is the very first RyJ to utilize it to the fullest extent; it features 100% Nicaraguan tobacco AND is rolled there as well. Naturally, I knew at the very least that I would probably LIKE the cigar, but I was surprised at how much I actually did. I happen to love box-pressed cigars, so that was already a point in its favor, but once it was lit and about an inch in, I already knew it would be my next Staff Pick. There was a momentary blast of spice in the very beginning, though that subsided fairly quickly and opened up into a very rich, leathery note that never let up. Earthy notes are also detectable, and hints of cinnamon showed face as well. No relights were needed, the burn was more than fair, and the cigar just looked and felt well constructed. I encourage you to try this one, especially if RyJ had perhaps gotten a bit lackluster as it had for me in recent times. Cheers! Picked on 02/23/2017
Andrew
AGE:24
TASTE:Leather, Wood, Espresso
HOBBIES:Golf, Hanging with my dog, Smoking cigars
STRENGTH:Medium/Full

FAVORITE BRANDS
Tatuaje Black Label
Ashton
Illusione "Original Documents"
La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero

FOLLOW
Eiroa Toro 6 * 54
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
If I were to blend my own cigar, it would definitely be on a corojo wrapper. I really enjoy the spicy kick you get out of the wrapper. When it comes to corojo wrappers, in my opinion, no one does it better than Eiroa. The Eiroa Toro is an Honduran puro that is rolled at their Aladino Factory. The Toro starts off with red pepper and woodsy notes. The draw was a bit firm at first but eventually opened up during the first third. As the cigar progresses, some notes of dark fruits appear that leave a sweet after taste. You can really appreciate all of the fruity and spicy notes on the retrohale. Towards the final third, the cigar has developed toward a full bodied smoke. The Eiroa Toro is a consistent cigar offering great flavors and a generous smoke output. I usually prefer my corojo wrappers no bigger than a 50 ring gauge so I can taste the wrapper a bit more. However, this cigar was still excellent despite being a tad bit thicker than my preference. If you enjoy your cigars on the stronger side, I suggest you give one of these a try. Picked on 02/10/2017
Tyler Bartley
AGE:29
TASTE:Everything
HOBBIES:Drawing, Traveling, Formula 1 racing, Baseball, History
STRENGTH:Medium to Full

FAVORITE BRANDS
Matilde Renacer
Gurkha Cellar Reserve 15 Years
Tatuaje El Triunfador
Dunhill 1907
Don Pepin Garcia Blue Edition
Rocky Patel Vintage 1992

FOLLOW
Arturo Fuente Don Carlos No. 2 6 * 55
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
I really felt compelled to write a review on this cigar because its just so consistent in all aspects every time. I don't typically smoke cigars in the 54+ ring gauges but being a Fuente fan I had to give this smoke a try. Upon lighting the cigar smoked beautifully, effortless draw and burn. The first half of the cigar had an almost sweet/spice and tea like taste. Very much medium and never overpowering or harsh. Towards the end of the cigar heads back to a milder territory. I also decided to drink a Cuban Coffee with this which gave it a fantastic accompanying taste. I'd also like to point out that I was able to smoke this cigar up until the band without having to dump the ash! Picked on 02/04/2017
Michael Diaz-Silveira
AGE:22
TASTE:Wood, Leather, Nut, Maple
HOBBIES:Guitar, Football, Basketball, Volleyball
STRENGTH:Full

FAVORITE BRANDS
Herrera Esteli
Eiroa CBT Maduro
Liga Privada No. 9
Perdomo Double Aged 12 Year Connecticut
CAO Amazon Basin


BONUS
Adrenaline Junkie!
FOLLOW
Crowned Heads La Imperiosa Magicos 41/2 * 52
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
If you are looking for a quick 45 minute smoke, look no further. Crowned Heads La Imperiosa Magicos is sure to hit the spot and put you in a placid mood. This extra dark stogie delivers a medium to full bodied smoke, presenting notes of delicious chocolate, cedar, and some pepper. With a solid ash and good burn, one cannot simply ask for more. Picked on 01/28/2017
Adam
AGE:37
TASTE:All
HOBBIES:Music, Reading, Art, Nature, Craft Beer, Slacking
STRENGTH:All

FAVORITE BRANDS
Tatuaje Black Label
Liga Privada No. 9
Joya de Nicaragua Antano 1970
Arturo Fuente

FOLLOW
601 La Bomba Warhead III 71/2 * 38
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
This is one cool little smoke. It is a chocolate brown lancero sporting a pig tail, a soft box press and a solid punch. It is made by Espinosa at La Zona, and packaged in military green boxes with great WWII style retro artwork. The construction is superb. Despite its narrow 38 ring gauge (which, by the way, showcases the Connecticut Broadleaf wrapper quite nicely), this stick burns well from start to finish with almost zero corrections required. The most prominent flavors I pick up are cocoa and espresso bean, dark fruit like cherry or currant, a caramel like sweetness, and a good dose of pepper. The strength increases steadily as you smoke, and you can expect a burn time of around 1 hour. If you are bored of your go to, or just want to try something unique, definitely check this one out. Consider pairing it with a good Tennessee whiskey or milk stout. Cheers! Picked on 01/21/2017
Daniel Gutierrez
AGE:26
TASTE:Wood, Cream, Cedar
HOBBIES:Painting, Animation, Music
STRENGTH:Medium/Full

FAVORITE BRANDS
Padron 1926 Serie Maduro
Partagas
Arturo Fuente Fuente Opus X

FOLLOW
Padron 1926 Serie No. 48 TAA Maduro 51/2 * 60
Appearance
Draw
Burn
Aroma
Taste
I love cigars with a slight toothy and rugged wrapper. You see and feel the bumps on the tobacco. Rustic is what comes to mind. The pre-draw was effortless and notes of earth, cocoa and oak. Upon lighting the cigar I got some spice like pepper, cumin, some sea salt and nut. Getting through the first and second quarter it got smoother and hearty in flavors. The cocoa was more prominent and the spice would creep back up every couple puffs. Third and fourth quarter was amazing. Usually some would put the cigar down after getting through the band but this cigar, you'll be burning your fingers to get the end. The flavors remaind and not too harsh. Truly a complex stick to sit back and relax, or reflect on your success on 2016. Enjoy! Picked on 01/12/2017